The short answer: 8 years is common, 70% is common, the fine print is not

Most automakers whose US warranty terms we read cover an EV's high-voltage battery for 8 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first. Hyundai and Kia give 10 years or 100,000 miles. A few set a higher mileage limit for certain models: Tesla up to 150,000 miles for the Model S and X, Rivian 150,000 miles for current R1 Large and Max packs, and Mercedes-Benz 10 years or 155,000 miles for the EQE and EQS in its 2025 booklet. Manufacturer documents, federal rules and California regulation text: checked October 29, 2026.

The second number matters just as much. Most brands promise to repair the battery for lost capacity only if it falls below a threshold, usually 70% of the original, and the dealer or service center measures that with the manufacturer's own method. Loss above that line counts as normal wear. Your range estimate is not the test; Tesla, BMW and Lucid say so in their warranties.

No federal law guarantees an EV battery a minimum capacity. A federal 8-year/80,000-mile emissions defect warranty for EV batteries becomes mandatory with model year 2027 for cars and light trucks up to 6,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating, and by 2031 at the latest for heavier ones, without a capacity threshold. California's Advanced Clean Cars II rules require 8 years/100,000 miles and a 70% state-of-health threshold from model year 2026, but California's ability to enforce them is in court after Congress disapproved the federal waiver in June 2025. For a used EV, what counts is the booklet for that exact car, its in-service date and the transfer clause.

Typical term
8 years/100,000 miles; Hyundai and Kia 10 years/100,000 miles; higher mileage for some Tesla, Rivian and Mercedes-Benz models
Typical threshold
70% of original capacity, measured by the manufacturer; Rivian: loss of 30% or more; Mercedes-Benz: minimum amp-hours per model
Federal minimum
8 years/80,000 miles for battery defects from model year 2027 (up to 6,000 lb GVWR; heavier vehicles by MY2031 at the latest); no capacity threshold
California (ACC II)
8 years/100,000 miles; state of health below 70% (MY2026–2030) or 75% (MY2031+); enforcement disputed in court
Not read
Toyota, Honda/Acura and Volvo: warranty pages or booklets blocked or returned errors on October 29, 2026; Subaru: current US EV terms not located

Sources: [19], [20], [21], [23], [25], [28], [30], [31], [32], [35], [10], [1], [6]

Federal law: disclosure rules and a defect warranty, but no capacity minimum

The Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act governs written warranties on consumer products, but it doesn't require a warranty or set its length; it even says the FTC can't prescribe warranty durations or require that a product be warranted. It requires clear disclosure and a label: a warranty that meets the federal minimum standards is a “full” warranty, everything else is “limited.” All the automaker warranty booklets we read are labeled limited warranties. The act also bars a warrantor from making coverage depend on a brand-name part or service unless that part or service is free, and a company that gives a written warranty can't disclaim implied warranties, though it may limit how long they last.

For used-car buyers, two details matter. The act counts as a consumer anyone to whom the product is transferred while a warranty is running. And the FTC's disclosure rule requires the written warranty to state who it covers if enforceability is limited to the original buyer. The transfer clause in the booklet is therefore the place to look, not the sales listing.

Separately, EPA's emission warranty rule lists EV and plug-in hybrid batteries, together with the components needed to charge, store energy and move the vehicle, among the parts with 8 years or 80,000 miles of defect coverage. That requirement is optional before model year 2027 for cars and light trucks up to 6,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating, and for heavier vehicles until they're first certified to EPA's Tier 4 bin standards, no later than model year 2031. That's why Ford's 2026 EV booklet says fully electric vehicles “are not eligible for any emissions warranties,” and why Tesla's US warranty adds an emissions warranty only from model year 2027.

EPA has also dropped two battery rules. The 2024 version of the warranty rule covered an EV that missed the manufacturer's usable-energy value on a state-of-certified-energy monitor, and a separate section would have required, from model year 2027, at least 80% of certified usable battery energy after 5 years or 62,000 miles and 70% after 8 years or 100,000 miles. EPA's rule published February 18, 2026, effective April 20, 2026, removed both but kept the defect warranty, citing its connection to EPA's criteria pollutant program. For past purchases, EPA wrote, any battery warranties or performance guarantees “were entered into on a voluntary basis separately from regulatory requirements.”

Sources: [14], [15], [16], [13], [38], [18], [10], [20], [19], [12], [11]

California's ACC II battery warranty, and why it's in limbo

California's Advanced Clean Cars II package, approved in 2022 and effective November 30, 2022, added a warranty section for 2026 and later zero-emission vehicles certified for sale in California. The manufacturer must warrant to the first and each subsequent purchaser that the battery is free from defects that cause its state of health to fall below 70% within 8 years or 100,000 miles for model years 2026 to 2030, and below 75% from model year 2031. Diagnosis that finds a defective battery at a warranty station must be free, repairs may use refurbished parts suited to the car's age and mileage, and repairs that can't be completed within 30 days qualify for an exception; Hyundai's booklet describes it as the right to have the work done elsewhere and be reimbursed. The manufacturer can deny coverage only if it shows that abuse, neglect or improper maintenance directly caused the problem.

The rules also define the yardstick. The state-of-health value must run from 0 to 100%, track the battery's measured usable energy and read no more than 5 percentage points high, and the driver must be able to see it in the car without tools, within five screens. That display requirement phases in from at least 40% of a manufacturer's 2026 EVs to 100% from 2027. A separate durability rule requires 2026 to 2029 EVs to be designed so that at least 70% of vehicles in a test group keep 70% of their certified range for 10 years or 150,000 miles, and 2030 and later EVs 80% on average. That is a design requirement for the manufacturer, not a claim you can make at the dealer.

Whether California can enforce all this is disputed. On June 12, 2025, Public Law 119-16 declared EPA's waiver decision for Advanced Clean Cars II to have “no force or effect.” CARB calls the federal actions illegal; California and other states sued, and CARB described the case as pending in June 2026. In the meantime, CARB's emergency rules say the earlier standards that ACC II displaced remain operative until a court resolves the dispute, and that CARB may enforce ACC II if a court invalidates the resolution. The Board approved making those rules permanent on March 26, 2026, and submitted the final package to the Office of Administrative Law on September 25, 2026; when we checked, CARB's page still listed final approval as not yet reached.

Automakers handle this differently in their booklets. Tesla applies its Battery ZEV Limited Warranty to all 2026 and later cars sold in the US and Canada. BMW and Hyundai apply their California ZEV battery coverage to 2026 models registered in California, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Vermont or Washington. Lucid limits it to cars certified for California and registered in a state that “has adopted and is enforcing” the rules. We couldn't read CARB's interactive dashboard of states that adopted California's vehicle rules, so we don't publish our own state list. Our assessment: most of the brands we checked already offer 8 years, 100,000 miles and 70% voluntarily, so the practical difference lies in the extra protections listed above, where they apply.

Minimum battery rules for EVs in the US, status as of October 29, 2026 (regulation text; no consumer claim unless stated in your warranty)
RuleApplies toDurationCapacity or state of healthStatus
California 13 CCR § 1962.8 (battery warranty)MY2026+ ZEVs certified for California, plus qualifying plug-in hybrids8 years/100,000 milesDefects causing state of health below 70% (MY2026–2030) or 75% (MY2031+)In the regulations; federal waiver disapproved June 2025; lawsuit pending
California 13 CCR § 1962.4 (durability)MY2026+ ZEVs, per test group10 years/150,000 miles70% of certified range for 70% of vehicles (MY2026–2029); 80% average (MY2030+)Design requirement, not a consumer claim; same dispute
California 13 CCR § 1962.5 (state-of-health display)40% of MY2026 ZEVs, 100% from MY2027Not a warrantyReading within 5 points of measured usable energy, visible without toolsSame dispute
Federal 40 CFR 85.2103 (emission defect warranty)EVs and plug-in hybrids; required from MY2027 up to 6,000 lb GVWR, heavier vehicles by MY20318 years/80,000 milesNone; defects only (capacity clause removed April 20, 2026)In eCFR as of October 27, 2026
Federal 40 CFR 86.1815-27 (durability)Was to start with MY20275 years/62,000 and 8 years/100,000 miles80% and 70% of certified usable energyRemoved effective April 20, 2026

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4], [5], [6], [7], [8], [9], [19], [24], [30], [35]

What 12 automakers promise for the battery

For 12 brands we read the US warranty booklet, warranty page or press material from the manufacturer itself. The table reports those manufacturer statements; it's not a ranking, because duration, measurement method and conditions can't be turned into a single score. What applies to you is the booklet for your exact model, model year and, at Tesla and Rivian, the effective date or battery configuration.

Several points are open. Chevrolet's US pages name 8 years or 100,000 miles but no capacity threshold; GM's 2026 Canadian EV booklet uses 75%, which we don't assume for US cars. Nissan's 2026 page lists capacity coverage for 96 months or 100,000 miles without a threshold; the nine-segment rule comes from the 2025 LEAF booklet. Hyundai's booklet says capacity loss is “covered not to degrade more than 70%,” which can be read two ways; its repair clause, “no less than 70% of the original battery capacity,” points to a 70% floor. Mercedes-Benz states minimum amp-hours instead of a percentage, and we found only its 2025 EQ booklet. Kia and Polestar don't say on the pages we read whether the battery coverage transfers.

For Toyota, Honda/Acura and Volvo, the warranty booklets or pages were blocked or returned errors when we checked; for Subaru we didn't locate current US EV terms. We don't fill those gaps with dealer listings or secondary sites. A missing row doesn't mean there's no battery warranty: ask the dealer for the written booklet before you buy.

EV battery warranties in the US according to the manufacturer, as of October 29, 2026 (manufacturer statements, no ranking)
BrandYears/milesCapacity thresholdTransfer and key conditionsSource and date
Tesla (Model S, X, 3, Y)8 years; 100,000 mi (3/Y Standard), 120,000 mi (3/Y Long Range, Performance), 150,000 mi (S/X)70% retention; measurement method at Tesla's sole discretionTransferable at no cost; install updates after notice; salvage or total loss can voidUS warranty, effective Sept. 1, 2026
Chevrolet (GM EVs)8 years/100,000 miNot stated on US pages readActive warranties transfer to the new owner (GM FAQ)chevrolet.com, checked Oct. 29, 2026
Ford (Mach-E, F-150 Lightning, E-Transit)8 years/100,000 miBelow 70% of beginning-of-life capacity (65% cutaway/chassis cab), set by EV Certified dealerTransfer not stated; battery repairs only at EV Certified dealers; updates within 30 days2026 BEV Warranty Guide, Oct. 2025
Hyundai10 years/100,000 mi from original retail delivery or first use70% of original capacity (wording ambiguous, see text)Battery term also 10 years/100,000 mi for later owners2026 Owner's Handbook; hyundaiusa.com
Kia10 years/100,000 mi from date of first serviceBelow 70% of original capacityBattery transfer not stated; 10-year powertrain only for original or CPO buyerkia.com/us, checked Oct. 29, 2026
Nissan (LEAF)96 months/100,000 mi2026: not stated on page; 2025 booklet: below 9 segments on gauge2025 booklet: generally transferable; heat, cold and 14-day-empty exclusionsnissanusa.com; 2025 LEAF booklet
Volkswagen (ID.4)8 years/100,000 miNet capacity below 70%; repair restores 70%, not 100%Transferable for the remaining termvw.com; 2026 ID.4 press kit
BMW (BEV)8 years/100,000 miUsable (net) capacity/state of health below 70%, confirmed by a BMW centerFirst and each later buyer; damage from non-approved charging gear excludedMY2026 warranty booklet
Mercedes-Benz (EQ, MY2025)10 years/155,000 mi (EQE, EQS, SUVs); 8 years/100,000 mi (EQB)Minimum amp-hours, e.g. 204 Ah (EQE), 192 Ah (EQS)Original and each later owner; required maintenanceMY2025 EQ booklet (2026 not found)
Rivian (R1T, R1S)8 years; 120,000 mi (Standard) or 150,000 mi (Large, Max), MY2025–2026Loss of 30% or more of minimum usable rated capacity“May be transferable”; ask Rivian before buyingR1 guide, effective Aug. 13, 2026
Lucid8 years/100,000 miBelow 70%, judged by Lucid at its sole discretionLater owners with proof of transfer; can be voided if updates aren't installed within 30 daysMY2026 warranty
Polestar8 years/100,000 mi (battery and motors)Not stated on US FAQNot statedpolestar.com/us, checked Oct. 29, 2026

Sources: [19], [20], [21], [22], [23], [24], [25], [26], [27], [28], [29], [30], [31], [32], [33], [34], [35], [36], [39]

How a capacity claim is judged

The manufacturer decides, with its own test. Ford says an authorized EV Certified dealer determines whether capacity is below 70% of the battery's beginning-of-life capacity and that the method is at Ford's sole discretion. Tesla and Lucid also reserve the measurement method, and Tesla adds that range estimates are “an imperfect measure of Battery capacity.” BMW uses the usable (net) capacity: a BMW center runs its Battery Health Pass test, and some models show state of health in the car's Vehicle Status app. Rivian's service location determines whether the pack has lost 30% or more of its “normal minimum usable rated capacity.”

A successful claim doesn't mean a new battery. Volkswagen and Kia repair to at least 70%, and VW notes coverage may not return the pack to an “as new” condition. Tesla and Rivian provide a battery appropriate to the car's age and mileage, Hyundai promises at least the capacity the battery had before the failure but no less than 70%, and BMW guarantees at least 70% net capacity after repair. Mercedes-Benz repairs to its minimum amp-hour figure.

Example with assumed figures: a car's usable capacity was 80 kWh when new. The 70% line is 80 × 0.70 = 56 kWh. If the dealer measures 60 kWh, the battery is at 60 ÷ 80 = 75%. You'll notice less range than when it was new, but it's above the threshold, so under most warranties in our table it counts as normal wear, not a claim.

Clarify costs before you hand over the car. Where California's rule applies, diagnosis that finds a defective battery at a warranty station must be free. The booklets we read describe free diagnosis as part of a covered repair; BMW notes it may ask you to authorize an estimate before diagnosis in some cases where the cause may not be a defect. Ask who pays if the test finds no warranty case, and request the result in writing: date, mileage, method, measured value and the reference value used.

Sources: [19], [20], [30], [33], [35], [28], [31], [24], [25], [1]

Software, charging, storage: what can void or shrink your coverage

Software updates are now part of the deal. Lucid can void the whole warranty if you don't install required updates within 30 days after notification. Ford excludes damage from not completing its Power-Up updates within a reasonable time, “typically 30 days,” and makes you responsible for installing software updates within 30 days of availability. Tesla may exclude issues caused by not installing updates after notice, and it doesn't cover changes in battery performance caused by updates. Rivian says not following its software update instructions can void coverage.

Charging and storage rules differ. Ford excludes incompatible charging devices or methods, leaving the battery at or near zero charge for more than 14 days, and using the vehicle as a permanent stationary power source. Nissan's 2025 booklet excludes more than 24 hours above 120°F, more than seven days below −13°F and more than 14 days at or near zero charge. Lucid excludes discharging to 0% and warns that the result may be a replacement battery that isn't covered. BMW excludes damage from non-BMW-approved charging cables or plugs and from defective charging equipment, including public stations, as well as not charging within 14 days after the display shows 0% range. It also excludes using the car as an off-board power source for anything other than driving, its factory equipment and BMW-approved accessories, so check before you use a BMW for vehicle-to-home or vehicle-to-load power.

Physical damage is excluded in most booklets we read: flooding or immersion, fire or direct flame, collisions and opening the battery by unauthorized personnel. Tesla, Ford, Lucid and Rivian can void coverage on cars branded salvage, flood-damaged, rebuilt or declared a total loss. Tesla and Rivian say non-brand service doesn't void the warranty by itself, but damage it causes isn't covered; Ford allows warranty battery repairs only at EV Certified dealers. Our reading: the federal ban on tying coverage to brand-name service is about conditions on parts or service; it doesn't say that damage a third-party repair caused must be covered.

California's rule sets a higher bar where it applies: the manufacturer must show that abuse, neglect or improper maintenance directly caused the failure. Outside that rule, the exclusions in your booklet decide, so keep the update history, charging equipment details and service invoices.

Sources: [19], [20], [27], [30], [33], [35], [24], [14], [1]

Buying used: what transfers and when the clock started

Most coverage we checked follows the car. Tesla's warranty is transferable at no cost, Lucid's covers later owners who prove the transfer, and VW (in its 2026 ID.4 press kit), BMW and Mercedes-Benz name subsequent owners. GM says active warranties transfer, and Nissan's 2025 booklet calls the warranty “generally transferable,” except that it's void if ownership changes and the car is registered outside the US within the first six months. Hyundai's battery term stays 10 years or 100,000 miles for later owners, while its 10-year powertrain warranty drops to 5 years or 60,000 miles. Rivian says its warranty “may be transferable” and asks buyers to check with Rivian before purchase whether any coverage has been voided.

The clock starts with the first owner, not with you. Tesla counts from delivery to the first retail or corporate buyer, Ford from delivery or first use, for example as a demonstrator, Hyundai from original retail delivery or first use, Kia from the date of first service and Rivian from delivery, lease or registration, whichever is earliest. California's definition also starts the period when a demonstrator or company car is first placed in service. A car that sat on a lot as a demo can therefore have less coverage than its title date suggests.

Example with assumed figures: coverage of 8 years or 100,000 miles started May 15, 2023. You buy the car on October 29, 2026 with 41,000 miles. Time runs out on May 15, 2031, 1,659 days or about 4.5 years later. At 12,000 miles a year you'd add about 54,500 miles and reach roughly 95,500, so time ends coverage first. At 15,000 miles a year, the remaining 59,000 miles last about 3.9 years, so mileage ends it around October 2030, about seven months earlier.

Check the warranty region too. Tesla requires service in the region where the car was first sold, with the US and Canada treated together; Rivian provides no coverage outside the 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Canada unless the law requires it, and Mercedes-Benz limits coverage to the US and Puerto Rico. For inspection, charging tests and paperwork in general, see ev.guru's guide “Buying a used EV: verify the battery, charging and paperwork,” and use the Electric cars catalog to look up the variant and battery data of the models it covers.

Sources: [19], [35], [33], [34], [22], [23], [24], [25], [29], [30], [31], [27], [36], [20], [1], [32]

If the manufacturer says no

Start with paper. Ask for the repair order and the written test result, and keep your own notes of dates, mileage and every contact. To the extent the law allows, Tesla requires written notice of the defect within the warranty period before you pursue lemon-law remedies and lists the information to include, such as VIN, delivery date, mileage and repair history.

Then use the dispute route named in your booklet. Tesla offers an optional, free program through the National Center for Dispute Settlement and otherwise requires binding individual arbitration or small claims court. Ford participates in BBB AUTO LINE, which is free, and says you must use it before seeking remedies created by the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act. Under that act, a consumer harmed by a breach of a written warranty can sue, and a court may award costs and attorneys' fees to a consumer who wins.

State lemon laws add rights for new vehicles. California's Department of Consumer Affairs says its lemon law covers new vehicles sold or leased in California under the original warranty and that, after at least two repair attempts fail, the dealer or manufacturer must replace the vehicle or refund the price. Its Arbitration Certification Program certifies arbitration programs that are free for consumers, and the New Motor Vehicle Board offers mediation. Other states' rules differ; we didn't check them for this guide. This guide isn't legal advice; for a large claim, talk to a consumer attorney.

Sources: [19], [20], [17], [37], [24]

Checklist before you buy a used EV

A battery warranty on a used EV is only as good as the documents behind it. Go through these points before you sign and get any promise about the battery written into the contract. A seller who won't share records isn't proof of a defect, but it's a reason not to buy under time pressure.

This guide reports manufacturer terms and regulation text; we haven't measured or tested any battery. Next step: look up the variant in ev.guru's Electric cars catalog and plan the inspection with the used-EV guide.

  1. Dates and miles: get the warranty start date for this VIN from the manufacturer, not just the title date, and calculate time and miles left.
  2. Exact terms: get the warranty booklet for this model year, effective date and battery configuration, including the capacity section and transfer clause.
  3. Voided coverage: ask the manufacturer, with the VIN, whether any coverage has been voided; check the title for salvage, flood or rebuilt brands.
  4. Battery health: request a dated result by the manufacturer's method, such as a dealer test or the in-car state-of-health reading where available, plus the reference value.
  5. Software and recalls: confirm installed updates and completed recalls for the VIN; note any 30-day update rule in the booklet.
  6. Battery history: ask in writing about earlier battery repairs or replacement, flood, fire or collision damage and work by non-authorized shops.
  7. Region and state: check where the car was first sold and registered; look up the booklet's warranty region and any state list for California ZEV coverage.
  8. Dispute route: note the program named in the booklet, such as BBB AUTO LINE, NCDS or arbitration, and its deadlines.
  9. Separate the promises: keep manufacturer coverage, dealer warranty and any service contract apart, and get the dealer's battery statements in writing.

Sources: [19], [20], [30], [33], [35], [34], [1]

Sources & further reading

  1. California Air Resources Board: Final Regulation Order, 13 CCR § 1962.8, Warranty Requirements for Zero-Emission Vehicles and Batteries in Plug-in Hybrids, 2026 and later model years (PDF) ↗
  2. California Air Resources Board: Final Regulation Order, 13 CCR § 1962.5, Data Standardization Requirements for 2026 and later ZEVs and PHEVs (PDF) ↗
  3. California Air Resources Board: Final Regulation Order, 13 CCR § 1962.4, Zero-Emission Vehicle Standards for 2026 and later model years (PDF) ↗
  4. California Air Resources Board: Advanced Clean Cars II Regulations, rulemaking page (OAL approval November 30, 2022) ↗
  5. California Air Resources Board: Advanced Clean Cars program ↗
  6. U.S. Government Publishing Office: Public Law 119-16 (H.J. Res. 88), approved June 12, 2025 ↗
  7. California Air Resources Board: Emergency Amendment and Adoption of Vehicle Emissions Regulations ↗
  8. California Air Resources Board: Notice of Second Readoption of the Emergency Vehicle Emissions Regulations, June 2026 (PDF) ↗
  9. California Air Resources Board: Permanent adoption of the Emergency Vehicle Emissions Regulations, rulemaking page (reviewed September 25, 2026) ↗
  10. eCFR: 40 CFR 85.2103, Emission warranty (current as of October 27, 2026) ↗
  11. Federal Register: Rescission of the Greenhouse Gas Endangerment Finding and Motor Vehicle Greenhouse Gas Emission Standards, 91 FR 7686, February 18, 2026 ↗
  12. eCFR: 40 CFR 86.1815-27, Battery-related requirements, version in force on March 1, 2026 ↗
  13. Cornell LII: 15 U.S.C. § 2301, Definitions (Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act) ↗
  14. Cornell LII: 15 U.S.C. § 2302, Rules governing contents of warranties ↗
  15. Cornell LII: 15 U.S.C. § 2303, Designation of written warranties ↗
  16. Cornell LII: 15 U.S.C. § 2308, Implied warranties ↗
  17. Cornell LII: 15 U.S.C. § 2310, Remedies in consumer disputes ↗
  18. eCFR: 16 CFR 701.3, Written warranty terms (FTC) ↗
  19. Tesla: New Vehicle Limited Warranty, Model S, X, 3, Y, United States and Canada, effective September 1, 2026 (PDF) ↗
  20. Ford: 2026 Model Year Battery Electric Vehicle Warranty Guide (E-Transit, Mustang Mach-E, F-150 Lightning), October 2025 (PDF) ↗
  21. Chevrolet: Electric Vehicle Ownership, warranty and EV FAQ ↗
  22. Chevrolet: Owners warranty information and FAQ ↗
  23. Hyundai Motor America: America's Best Warranty, hybrid/EV battery coverage ↗
  24. Hyundai Motor America: 2026 Owner's Handbook and Warranty Information (PDF) ↗
  25. Kia America: Warranty, EV System Warranty and EV Battery Coverage ↗
  26. Nissan USA: EV benefits and limited warranty coverage for the 2026 LEAF ↗
  27. Nissan USA: 2025 LEAF Warranty Information Booklet (PDF) ↗
  28. Volkswagen of America: 2026 ID.4 model page, High-Voltage Battery Limited Warranty footnote ↗
  29. Volkswagen of America: 2026 ID.4 Press Kit, warranty section ↗
  30. BMW of North America: 2026 Model Year New Vehicle Limited Warranty for Passenger Cars and Light Trucks (PDF) ↗
  31. Mercedes-Benz USA: EQ Models Service and Warranty Information, Model Year 2025 (PDF) ↗
  32. Rivian: What is the warranty coverage on a new Rivian? ↗
  33. Rivian: R1T + R1S New Vehicle Limited Warranty Guide, US, effective August 13, 2026 (PDF) ↗
  34. Rivian: Does the warranty on my Rivian transfer to the new owner if I sell my vehicle? ↗
  35. Lucid: New Vehicle Limited Warranty, North America, Model Year 2026 (PDF) ↗
  36. Polestar US: Warranty FAQ ↗
  37. California Department of Consumer Affairs: Arbitration Certification Program and Lemon Law ↗
  38. Cornell LII: 15 U.S.C. § 2304, Federal minimum standards for warranties ↗
  39. General Motors of Canada: 2026 Chevrolet and GMC Electric Vehicle Limited Warranty, Canada (PDF; Canadian terms, cited for comparison only) ↗

Check current terms and details at the linked sources before deciding.

Put your own numbers to work.

Open cost calculator